How To Protect Your Files From New Google Drive Security Update

Google Drive Security Updates May Affect Your Files But You Can Avoid Them, Here’s How

Google Drive is bringing changes to its security update that will apply to other users’ files in Drive. Google notes that users who already have access to the updated security files can still view those files but those who do not will still need to request access.

POINTS:-

1.Google Drive releases security updates for shared files.

2.May choose to delete the used security settings.

3.YouTube has brought a similar update to its shared or unlisted links.

Google is set to deliver more Drive users’ updates from September. It now shows a notification in Google Drive stating a security update that will apply to other users’ files in Drive. In Drive, there are two ways Google users can share a file. The first is when users share a Google file with certain Google accounts and the other is by finding a link where anyone with the link can access that file. Now, by introducing a security update, Google aims to reduce the likelihood that these links – which are reportedly predictable, can be accessed by anyone by adding a resource key to shared drive links that make it difficult to guess.

Google notes that users who already have access to the updated security files can still view those files but those who do not still need to request access. Changes will take effect from September 13 and Google has given users the opportunity to uninstall the update of files and call content they want to share publicly.

To view the files where Google used these settings, users should go to Google Drive, where they will be able to see the security update banner. Click on See Files. Alternatively, users can also click on My Drive to view their affected files to see the affected files in that Drive. To delete a security update for these files, users should navigate over to the file they want to delete the security update from and then click on Delete security update. Users can also go to the file and right-click on Share> Find link> Settings> check or uncheck Apply for a security update. Earlier this month, Youtube brought a similar update to its unallocated or unlisted links, killing all unlisted links before 2017.

In related matters, Google has also updated its Android backup tool by launching Backup via Google One. The redesigned tool will be available to all Google users, and they will be able to back up photos, videos, and MMS messages, SMS messages, device settings, call history, and contacts. However, backup data will be calculated on the 15GB account storage package recently introduced by Google. Google has also added a Data Recovery Tool to the PlayStore which, as the name suggests, allows users to hold content from their old devices while setting up their new devices. Data Recovery Tool allows users to transfer applications, photos, cable contacts, or cloud backup while setting up the device. The Data Recovery Tool is expected to allow iPhone users to move their WhatsApp conversations to a new Android device.

http://feeds.feedburner.com/myblogguru/osjf

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.